"The love of gardening is a seed once sown that never dies" - Gertrude Jekyll

Leawood Garden Club - Leawood, KS - Organized July 27, 1948

Leawood Garden Club Brochure Back Cover







The Mission of the club is to beautify our homes, gardens and surroundings;
exchange ideas in gardening; stimulate and encourage
the love of gardening;
and encourage civic beautification.




The Leawood Garden Club is a civic and social organization. It was organized July 27, 1948.



Charter Members of Executive Board, 1948
Mrs. Romaine (Carl) Wortmann, organizer & President
Mrs. R. G. Bentrup, First Vice President
Mrs. Marie (C. B.) Kinnell, Jr. Second Vice President
Mrs. Jayne (E. F.) Knight, Recording Secretary
Mrs. Flo (Robert O.) Dickey, Treasurer
Mrs. Jerry (Dale W.) McNeal, Parliamentarian
Mrs. Ruth M. (Robert F.) Johnson, Historian
Mrs. Anita (B. J.) Hotz, Year Book Chairman

Honorary Members at the first meeting:
Mr. John Kroh
Mr. James S. Jackson
Mrs. C. C. Sirbert

The Leawood Garden Club Symbols are:
Colors - Yellow & White
Club Flower - Daisy
Emblem - Acorn and Oak Leaf

Leawood Garden Club