"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed it is the only thing that ever has." - Margaret Mead


Leawood was incorporated as a city of the third class on November 30, 1948, with slightly more than 1,000 inhabitants. On December 31, 1998 Leawood became a city of the first class.

The City operates under a Mayor-Council form of government. The Mayor is elected on an at-large, non-partisan basis and serves a four-year term. The eight Council members are elected on a non-partisan basis from four wards and serve a staggered four-year term. Every other year in the even numbered years, an election for council members is held with one council member from each of the four wards being chosen at each election.

The Governing Body, which develops policy and provides direction for the professional City staff, appoints a City Administrator to perform the day-to-day management of City services. The City Administrator hires directors for the City departments. Regular meetings of the Leawood City Council are held the first and third Mondays of each month beginning at 7:30pm.

City Council

City Hall